Royal Australian Mint

Royal Australian Mint

The  Royal Australian Mint is a prescribed agency within the Commonwealth Government  portfolio of the Treasury and is the sole supplier of Australia's circulating  coinage.

The  passing of the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act empowered the  Government to make laws with respect to currency, coinage and legal tender. The  Coinage Act 1909 put in place the first steps for an Australian coinage. Thus  began the journey towards a mint owned by the Commonwealth and independence  from the branches of the Royal Mint.

The  establishment of the Royal Australian Mint at its final site in Canberra  followed propositions to place it near to the present National Library and on  Camp Hill, between the Old Parliament House and Capital Hill. The Commonwealth  Government approved the construction of the Mint in 1962 and construction  commenced in 1963 on a site in the Canberra suburb of Deakin.

His  Royal Highness, Prince Philip, opened the Royal Australian Mint on  22 February 1965.

The  first task of the Mint was to produce new coins for the introduction of decimal  currency on 14 February 1966. Since then it has produced more than fourteen billion circulating coins. It now has capacity to produce two million  coins per day.

The  demand for proof and uncirculated versions of those original decimal coins has  been followed by expansion of the Mint's collector coins into a high quality,  innovative business. The Royal Australian Mint became the first Mint in the  World to achieve accreditation to International Quality Standards ISO 9002.  That emphasis on quality systems, innovative technology and research and  development is continuing today.

As  well as the Mint's functions to produce Australia's coinage, it produces coins  for other countries, along with medals, medallions, tokens and seals for private  clients, both national and international.

Web Address:

< Back